Hard work and Rewards

Week two has wrapped up, and we are in Alberta. Monday was a short day of cycling from Vernon to Salmon Arm. I enjoyed spending the afternoon with my Uncle Paul, Auntie Shirley, and Celeste and family😊.

On Wednesday I had my longest bike ride yet, which was a 152km ride from Revelstoke, through Roger’s pass, to Golden. It was certainly a challenging day, considering the amount of climbing and mid 30 degree weather. There were also construction zones along the way, and at one point we had a 45 minute hold up. I was thankful, though, that I had lots of energy despite the elevation gain, heat, and length. Christiana and I enjoyed many sing-a-longs to pass the time (and also found that it is quite a feat to sing while biking uphill!) The route was stunning, as has been the case each day throughout BC.
I thought the following day would be a break for my legs, and although it was only 80some km’s to Lake Louise, we trekked uphill for the majority of the day. Once again I was thankful for beautiful views to keep me somewhat distracted! Although I have lived in BC all my life, having the opportunity to bike across the province has helped me realize how blessed I am to live here! Biking through it is hard, but it is so beautiful and we have enjoyed experiencing all these sights in slow motion.
At our third rest stop of the day, there was a cute little town, called Field, nestled into the base of the mountains. My team and I enjoyed a relaxing break there, appreciating the view, and then took a small ride through the town. Little did I know that a 16km uphill would greet us shortly. Partway up this giant, we found a small waterfall in the shade, and man was I relieved!! Mountain water never felt so good… well that day, anyways☺️. There was also a lake at the top of the mountain, and 3 from our crew jumped in… I waded, but it was definitely fresh from the glaciers!!
On Friday and Saturday, we made our way from Lake Louise to Canmore, and then to Calgary. We enjoyed a short tour and picnic by the river in Banff, and views of the Rocky Mountains. We also toured Johnson canyon, and met a couple of people who knew of and supported Sea to Sea / World Renew. I found this very encouraging, and it reminded me of all the people who are supporting and praying for us throughout our journey.
Last week was definitely a test of endurance for me… after Wednesday, I caught up with myself and was quite tired and sore for the remainder of the week. But, the only option each day is to get up and bike, and I’m amazed at how our team did just that😊.

~kaitlin

IMG_20170707_124138394.jpgIMG_20170707_160818019_HDR.jpgIMG_20170707_153713494.jpg

The crew for icecream! Ed, John from Terrace, Curtis from Michigan, Dad, me, Chris (from Michigan), Kaitlin and John deWilde

Pounding in the last spike!

19667519_10213159284072678_759012640741402267_o

From Salmon Arm, Tuesday was another shorter distance day to get to Revelstoke. This gave a few of us the opportunity to try out the Pipe coaster on the ski hill. For $25 we could ride the lower gondola up and ride a track down 1.4 km and drop close to 300m of elevation! Back at camp, many of us enjoyed a refreshing dip in the lake ( a common theme I have become known for, and am often called a crazy Canadian for).Lake Louise was a highlight as 11 or the 12 people in our van jumped in the lake!

The evenings also have small group times which has been full of meaningful devotionals and discussions as simply lifting each other up in prayer. On Friday evening we had to say goodbye to two members who ended in Calgary. Chris from Edmonton and Mark will both be missed.

Saturday was a bittersweet day as we also had to say goodbye to some of the riders – including half of our cycling crew. This crew enjoys stopping at lakes, sightseeing locations, bike shops and to meet locals. My dad headed back to Smithers, Chris from Michigan is roadtripping home and John also needed to return to work. They were all great adventurers and would seek out swimming holes with me!

But I am very blessed to say that I am still travelling with Sea to Sea team! My employers graciously extended my trip an extra week so I am bound for Regina!
This also means I am committed to reaching my fundraising goal of $6,000 and with your help I can raise the remaining $2,000. If 40 of you each donated $50, it would enable World Renew and Partners Worldwide to continue their work! Check out the website to donate! Thank you for your financial support and your prayers for safety!
https://my.seatosea.org/creitsma

 

Leave a comment