Farewell

Sea to Sea 2017 was memorable. I left the tour last week Sunday in Regina, but my thoughts and prayers have not been far from them this past week. It was difficult to leave and yet I felt great peace in returning to my summer job and other summer commitments I had previously made. Adding the extra week from Calgary to Regina was such an unexpected blessing, it was difficult to be frustrated that my time with the Sea to Sea family had ended.
During the ride (especially as we came through the mountains) a favorite song/verse often came to mind: “I lift up my eyes to the mountains— where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord , the Maker of heaven and earth.”
Psalm 121:1‭-‬2 NIV
I loved being surrounded by beautiful scenery and the blessing of clear blue skies through the mountains.
The prairies offered new vistas. Corn on the left and wheat on the right, but sometimes canola on the right and wheat on the left. The long week of 887 km from Calgary to Regina sometimes felt a little monotanus and the days slightly blur together but thankfully the wind only offered a serious resistance one day of the whole week. And I really did love the wide open skies and the rolling hills of Saskatchewan.IMG_20170713_065710743

Our small group found encouragement in  Isaiah 40:29-31 “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.  Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall;  but those who hope in the Lord  will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Particularly in the evenings when we were tired from the day, and knowing we had 160 km ahead of us the next.

My biggest personal annoyances were an increasingly sore bottom and sore wrists from too much leaning on my arms. Both of these were logical as we spent nearly 30 hours in the saddle throughout the week.
On Friday, we arrived in Chaplin, Saskatchewan where the largest salt deposits are. There was a sprint in the last 5 km initiated by Ian and Len (who quickly decided it wasn’t worth the energy) but completed by Curtis and I. Between moving so quickly and slight physical exhaustion, I almost convinced Curtis the salt deposits were snow (but he soon realized that would be quite illogical for a 30°C day).
Ice cream was in high demand so Kaitlin, Curtis and I searched out the grocery store. We were debating if it was going to be worth the extra riding around town to find but when the main road turned to gravel, we knew town was not very large. For $5 we had enough icecream to last all three of us for days! IMG_20170714_135619923_TOPDespite the tiny size of Chaplin, the campground had a pool which was enjoyed by many cyclists, including Kaitlin and myself. Dinner consisted of breakfast burritos (thanks to chef Megan!)
As part of peloton, members leaving the crew were given an opportunity to share with the group. My reflections included how much I appreciated being able to experience the Sea to Sea family and how thankful I was for all the memories I now have. Thanks to my riding team for all the good times and to everyone for all the laughs. Never in my life have I laughed as much as I did in the last three weeks.
A final bike cleaning was completed in preparation for my last 160 km ride. And God’s faithfulness was evident in the sunset Friday night and sunrise Saturday morning. IMG_20170714_205235335_HDR
Many riders got an early start (already on the road at 5 am!) to minimize the amount of head wind they would have to battle. Curtis and I left camp near the end after helping with cleanup and truck loading so other cyclists could be on the road earlier. We had a great ride and had the company of others as we created drafts for them. Thanks Frank for the Timmie’s in Moose Jaw! It was great riding with you and getting to know you more.
We also rode with one of my small group members, Mit. He is in his 70’s and his wife let him leave for 10 weeks to cycle from sea to sea. He has an awesome American accent and offered me wise words for my future and teased me that I was always eating food whenever he saw me. His perseverance amazed me, especially through the tough mountain days, as he is a prairie boy from Iowa.
To top off the end of the 100 mile day, Curtis and I along with another rider really dropped the hammer on the last 30 km. I knew it was my last riding for a while and it was an awesome final push.
Being in camp throughout the evening was bittersweet, but I took time to connect with a few people for the last time.IMG_20170715_160742255
Earlier in the week, Kaitlin and I had made a bucket list for our last few days together til after she gets back. So Saturday night we took the opportunity to have some time with just the two of us while exploring some of Regina.
Sunday after church, we packed up my gear and bike in preparation for the airport, but not before the de Haas family treated us to ice cream and saskatoons!! 🙂

IMG_9810
The goodbyes at the airport were tough and it was hard to leave the sea to sea family behind. The joy I experienced gave me such life and I could feel it bubbling over into conversations I had with people in the airport.
So, the conclusion of what has become a lengthy farewell post, I look forward to joining the Sea to Sea family again someday and completing a full tour. I am amazed by the way faith and passion for the cause of ending poverty and the ability to cycle draws people together. Together we weathered storms of long, hot gruelling days, as well as a little rain and also built relationships which I hope and pray will continue for years. Thank you to all those who made this an incredible experience. Til next time.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.
Romans 15:13 NIV

One thought on “Farewell

  1. Here is a message for all of you–Fred, Christiana, Brent, Kaitlin and John–we are keeping you in prayer as the east coast gets closer! The Lord’s blessings as you continue to journey–pedaling and pedaling. May you feel encouraged. Thanks for all your work–for your time and effort to reduce poverty in this broken world which the Lord so lovingly holds in His hands. May you also be strengthened by His power when you feel tired and weak! Keeping you in prayers, George and Nancy Horlings

    Like

Leave a comment